Dalton Elementary School's Security Signs

As part of our comprehensive approach to ensuring students and staff members are safe every day at Aurora Public Schools, we are using bond funds to improve building hardware and infrastructure to make certain that learning environments remain safe and productive for all.

Twenty-two schools throughout the district are receiving security vestibules to their main offices. Many newer schools throughout APS already have this feature and by updating the remaining schools we are ensuring equitable access to safe learning environments for all students and staff. The security enhancement will ensure that school visitors follow check-in procedures at the front office before entering the rest of the building.

APS completed construction at 11 elementary schools before the beginning of the 2018-19 school year. Contractors will install security vestibules at the remaining schools in spring and summer 2019.

Schools receiving bond-funded security vestibules:

Phase 1 Schools (Summer 2018)
  • Century Elementary
  • Clyde Miller P-8
  • Columbia Middle School
  • Dartmouth Elementary
  • Iowa Elementary
  • Jamaica CDC
  • Murphy Creek P-8
  • Paris Elementary
  • Park Lane Elementary
  • Sixth Avenue Elementary
  • William Smith High School


Phase 2 Schools (Summer 2019)
  • Arkansas Elementary
  • Crawford Elementary
  • Dalton Elementary
  • Fulton Elementary
  • Kenton Elementary
  • Laredo CDC
  • Laredo Elementary
  • Sable Elementary
  • Vassar Elementary
  • Vaughn Elementary
  • Yale Elementary